Los Straitjackets Announce New Album, Streaming New Single

June 5th, 2012

By Damian Fanelli

Los Straitjackets, aka “America’s instrumentalists,” have announced a new album, Jet Set, which will be released August 7 via Yep Roc Records.

The band have premiered a music video for one of the new songs — “Space Mosquito” — at GuitarWorld.com.

You can check out “Space Mosquito” here.

Jet Set was produced by Janne Haavisto, the former drummer of Finland’s Laika & The Cosmonauts. Haavisto put melody at the forefront of this collection of 14 new tracks, and those melodies are backed by an amalgam of sweeping percussion, lush horn arrangements and distorted strings. You can check out the complete track listing below.

“I think it’s remarkable that this far into our career, we could do something that I’d consider our best work,” said Los Straitjackets guitarist Eddie Angel (who also happens to be a former GuitarWorld.com blogger).

Jet Set features guest appearances by Jimmy Vivino and The Basic Cable Horns and Finnish actress/musician Irina Bjorklund.

It’s been 18 years since Nashville-bred Los Straitjackets first donned their lucha libre masks. Since then, they’ve toured the universe and elsewhere, released 11 studio albums and two live albums. Guitarist Daddy-O Grande (Danny Amis) was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 2010. After he underwent a successful stem cell transplant in 2011, the band played a benefit show for Amis in Los Angeles that featured guest appearances by Conan O’Brien, Johnny Rivers and more. You can check out photos from that show here.

The good news is Amis’ guitar can be heard all over Jet Set!

Keep up with Los Straitjackets via their Facebook page and official website.

Los Straitjackets spring tour dates

Thursday, June 7: World Café Live – Philadelphia, PA
Friday, June 8: City Winery – New York, NY
Saturday, June 9: The Howard Theater – Washington DC
Wednesday June 13: Mercury Lounge – Nashville, TN
Thursday, June 14: Cosmic Charlie’s – Lexington, KY
Friday, June 15: The Grog Shop – Cleveland, OH
Saturday, June 16: The Oilhouse At Festival Park – Johnstown, PA

Jet Set track listing:

01. Crime Scene (Danny Amis)
02. Yeah Yeah Yeah (Amis-Angel-Curry-Townson-Willey)
03. New Siberia (Danny Amis)
04. Aerostar (Eddie Angel)
05. Brooklyn Slide (Townson-Angel-Curry-Willey)
06. Jet Set (Danny Amis)
07. Low Tide (Danny Amis)
08. Walking Down 3d Street (Eddie Angel)
09. Bobsleddin’ (Townson-Angel-Curry-Willey)
10. Wrong Way Inn (Townson-Angel-Curry-Willey)
11. Space Mosquito (Townson-Angel-Curry-Willey)
12. Sardinian Holiday (Danny Amis)
13. Mr. Pink (Angel-Curry-Haavisto-Townson-Willey)
14. Pop Rocks & Coke (Angel-Curry-Townson-Willey)
15. Für Sophia (Eddie Angel)

Want to read more stories like this?
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel