Exclusive: Ryan Bingham Shows Off His Unique Vintage Guitars

August 6th, 2012

By Damian Fanelli

Ryan Bingham will release his new studio album (his fourth), Tomorrowland, September 18 through his own label, Axster Bingham Records. The album, the followup to 2010’s Junky Star, was recorded in Malibu, California, and co-produced by Bingham and Justin Stanley (Eric Clapton, Sheryl Crow, The Vines). The album’s first single, “Heart of Rhythm,” was released July 31 on iTunes.

“With this record I tried to take a step back and take more time than I have on any previous albums,” Bingham said. “The decision to produce it myself with co-producer Justin Stanley was a step into unknown territory at first, but once we started recording it almost felt like it was creating itself. I think the songs can speak for themselves and I’m excited to get out on the road and play them for people.”

In 2009, Bingham wrote and performed the theme song “The Weary Kind” for Crazy Heart starring Jeff Bridges. The track, which was produced by T Bone Burnett, earned Bingham an Academy Award, Golden Globe Award and Critics’ Choice Award for “Best Song” in 2010 — not to mention a Grammy Award for “Best Song Written for a Motion Picture” in 2011.

Bingham recently took some time out from collecting awards to create the video below, which finds him showing off some of the more unique and/or vintage guitars in his personal collection. Check it out below.

For more about Bingham, visit his official website and Facebook page.

Tomorrowland Track Listing:

01. Beg For Broken Legs
02. Western Shore
03. Flower Bomb
04. Guess Who’s Knocking
05. Heart Of Rhythm
06. I Heard ‘Em Say
07. Rising Of The Ghetto
08. No Help From God
09. Keep It Together
10. Never Far Behind
11. The Road I’m On
12. Neverending Show
13. Too Deep To Fill

Photo: Anna Axster